A glimpse of Autumn

for Mezzo Soprano, Flute, Clarinet, Violin, Violoncello & Piano

Program Notes:

"A glimpse of Autumn" is a four-movement composition for mezzo soprano, flute, clarinet, violin/viola,

violoncello and piano written in autumn 2020. The composition is inspired by Japanese folk music and nature. Each movement (except the IV) describes a Haiku poem in english.

I: "A hazy night lake

The water moves slightly

Under the brume's smoke"

written by Menelaos Peistikos

II: "The distant mountain

Catch the sun

The desolate field"

(english translation) written by Takahama Kiyoshi (1874-1959)

III: "An autumn sky

I see the rainy clouds

With nostalgia"

written by Menelaos Peistikos

Circa 6'